B. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering

Department of Theoretical Physics

The Department of Theoretical Physics includes 25 researchers: 11 researchers have D.Sc. and 12 researchers have Ph.D. in Physics and Mathematics. L.A. Pastur is Academician of the NAS of Ukraine.

The Department of Theoretical Physics was founded in 2003 by joining the Department of Theory of Electronic Properties of Solids, headed by D.Sc. in Physics and Mathematics, Professor, Ukraine State Award winner (1997) R.N. Gurzhi, and the Department of Quantum Theory and Nonlinear Dynamics of Macroscopic Systems, headed by D.Sc. in Physics and Mathematics, Professor, corresponding member of the NAS of Ukraine, Ukraine State Award winner (1978, 2001), Honored Worker of Science and Technology of Ukraine A.M. Kosevich.

The first head of the Department was Academician of NAS of Ukraine L.A. Pastur.

In 2013, Laboratory of Numerical Methods in Theoretical Physics was created in the Department. The laboratory included 8 research workers, and D.Sc. in Physics and Mathematics V.V. Slavin was appointed the head of the Laboratory.

From 2016 up to 2021 the head of the Department was Professor I.V. Krive.

In 2021 the Laboratory of Numerical Methods in Theoretical Physics was merged with the Department.

Since 2021 the Department is headed by Doctor of Sciences V.V. Slavin.

At present, 5 Ukraine State Prize winners work in the Department:

L.A. Pastur (1985), I.E. Chupis (2004), I.V. Krive (2006), S.I. Shevchenko (2006), A.S. Kovalev (2014).

Till 2018, Ukraine State Prize winner (1997) A.I. Kopeliovich worked in the Department.

I.V. Krive (2014), A.S. Kovalev (2015), and G.P. Mikitik (2018) were awarded by scholarships named after K.D. Sinelnikov.

Academician L.A. Pastur. was awarded with a medal of the NAS of Ukraine for the long-term work and significant contribution to the science (2017). L.A. Pastur is an Honorary Doctor of V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University (2017), Honorary Doctor of N.N. Bogolyubov Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyiv, Ukraine (2018).

Research in the Department covers a wide range of fields from low-dimensional physics to quantum liquids, spintronics and physics of disordered quantum systems. The main directions are:

The results obtained in the Department have been published in prestigious scientific journals: Nature Communications, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review B, New Journal of Physics etc.

The Department enjoys close collaboration with a number of scientists and experimental groups (see International links).