ILTPE - B.Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the NAS of Ukraine


Last updated: 

Brief information

The Department was organized in 1966 by Prof. Boris I. Verkin, Academician of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, who contributed substantially to the development and scientific profile of the Department. From the day of foundation and until 2008 the Department was headed by Prof. Igor V. Svechkarev. Since 2008 and to the present the Department is headed by Prof. Gennadiy E. Grechnev.
From 2006 to 2017 an outstanding Ukrainian scientist Prof. Victor V. Eremenko, Academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, had worked in the Department.

The employees of the Department made a significant contribution to the development of science and technology of Ukraine, as evidenced by high state awards:

At present, the Department consists of 14 staff members, among them: 3 Doctors of Sciences (DrSc.), 9 Candidates of Sciences (Dr.rer.nat., PhD), 1 PhD Student, 1 Engineer, and 1 Technician.

The research field of the Department covers a broad area of applied and fundamental problems of Condensed Matter Physics, above all magnetic and elastic properties of functional materials, intermetallic compounds, and different alloys. This includes primarily: