Department of Optical and Magnetic Properties of Solids

B.Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

Group for research of metastable multiferroics

Staff of Research Group

Olena L. Fertman

Head of Group
Senior Research Fellow,
Doctor of Sciences (DrSc).
Fauziya S. Pokrovskaya


The main directions of scientific activity

Magnetic properties of materials on the basis of 3d- and 4f-elements: rare-earth intermetallics, perovskites, nano-sized systems, magnetic glasses, multiferoics, double-layered cobalt-based hydroxides (LDH).

The most important latest scientific results

  • The exchange shift of the hysteresis magnetization loop of was revealed in Nd2/3Ca1/3MnO3 manganite, which is characterized by a colossal magnetoresistance. This result confirmed the existence of magnetic phase separation and demonstrated the presence of an exchange interaction between ferromagnetic nanoclusters and an antiferromagnetic matrix in manganites (2014).
  • For the first time, by electronic spin resonance (ESR), SQUID magnetometry and electric resistance measurements a direct evidence of the fact that below the charge ordering temperature, Tco ~ 212 K, the compound is a mixture of charge-ordered and charge-disordered phases, which is self-organizing in the process of phase transformation into charge-ordered state was obtained. (2016).
  • For the first time, a high-temperature anomaly of the magnetic properties of Co-containing double layered hydroxides [Со2+1-xAl3+x(OH)2]x+(CO3y-)x/y·5H2O was detected in the temperature range 75 – 175 K; iwas established that the anomaly is due to the effect of "freezing" of hydrogen bonds (2017).
  • For the first time the exchange shift of the hysteresis loops was discovered in a new promising multiferoid BiFe0.5Sc0.5O3, which was recently synthesized under high pressure conditions that occurs when cooled in a magnetic field below the magnetic ordering temperature and indicates the magnetic phase separation of this compound in a magnetically ordered state (2018).

International cooperation

  • Universidade de Aveiro (CICECO), Aveiro, Portugal.
  • Univerzita Pavla Jozefa Šafárika v Košiciach (UPJS), Kosice, Slovak Republic.
  • STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (ISIS Facility), Oxfordshire, Didcot, The United Kingdom.
  • Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE), Essen, Germany.
  • Vilniaus Universitetas (VU), Vilnius, Lithuania.
  • Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences (FZU), Prague, Czech Republic.
  • B.I. Stepanov institute of Physics of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (IFAN), Minsk, Belarus.
  • Institute of Low Temperature and Structure Research of the Polish Academy of Science (INTiBS PAN), Wroclaw, Poland.
  • State Scientific and Production Association "Scientific-Practical Materials Research Centre of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus" (JISSSP NASB), Minsk, Belarus.
  • Institute of Technical Acoustics of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus" (ITA NASB), Minsk, Belarus.